http://ddw.cx/cldply Coldplay has officially announced their ninth studio album, ‘Music of the Spheres’. The 12-track phenomenon, produced by pop hitmaker Max Martin, landed on 15 October 2021. It's officially here and the reveal is out of this world! 🎶🎵🎹 @coldplay

The Very Best In Online Events This Weekend
|

The Very Best In Online Events This Weekend

The Bars, Clubs & Restaurants May Be Closed, But There’s Still Plenty To Do This Valentines!

While we would, of course, much rather be getting ready for an evening of cocktails or fine dining this Valentine’s Day, the only thing on the menu for many is a night in on the sofa. 

However, that’s not to say there’s nothing to do! As creatives around the world continue to get innovative in their attempts to deliver top-class entertainment to fans within their own homes, there’s plenty happening in the online space this weekend for you to enjoy. 

Here are DDW’s highlights of the very best online events for Valentines Day weekend!

Friday — February 12th

JBTV Revolution Television Festival

1:00pm PST // 4:00pm EST // 9:00pm GMT 

The JBTV Revolution Television Festival takes place across the coming weekend, beginning on Friday with a line-up that offers something for everyone! 

Huge acts such as Fall Out Boy, Charli XCX, AWOLNATION, Gary Numan and Alt-J are all set to give performances between the 12th and 15th February in an exciting virtual event which looks to set the bar for the online festivals taking place across the coming year.

Rufus Wainwright: Out Of The Game

2:00pm PST // 5:00pm EST // 10:00pm GMT

Fans of acclaimed singer-songwriter Rufus Wainwright are in for a treat this weekend, as he performs a fantastic selection of songs from his seventh studio album, Out Of The Game, famously produced by Mark Ronson. This particular livestream is set to feature Side 2 of the album, though his performance of the album’s first half is still available to watch online before his second event begins on Friday!

Pearl Jam: Live In Seattle

5:00pm PST // 8:00pm EST // 1:00am GMT

A late-night watch for those in the United Kingdom, but well worth staying up for! Pearl Jam will be premiering never-before-seen footage of their iconic performance from Safeco Field, Seattle, back in 2018. This 37-song set will feature many of their best-loved releases, captured expertly by touring video director Blue Leach. 

Pink Sweat$: Pink Planet Live

5:00pm PST // 8:00pm EST // 1:00am GMT

In an exciting event for fans of one of R&B’s biggest rising stars, Pink Sweat$ will be holding an immersive and fully interactive virtual concert this Friday – the very first live performance of tracks from his long-awaited debut album, Pink Planet

During the concert, Sweat$ will be able to see, hear and speak to his fans, and is even planning to bring some lucky viewers to join him ‘on stage’. The VIP experience after the show will see Pink Sweat$ performing some brand new tracks and will be sharing the intimate meanings behind each one in an event that he’s billed as ‘a night of serenades’. 


Saturday — 13th February

Sherlock In Homes

6:00PM & 8:00pm GMT

Sharp Teeth Theatre present this fully-interactive murder mystery experience which puts you in the position of the famous sleuth as you attempt to solve the case of ‘The Murder At The Circus’! Featuring an incredible cast of actors and a series of dastardly dark twists and turns, this is sure to be a fantastic experience for any crime and mystery fan – make sure you keep a notebook handy to take down all your clues.

Romeo & Juliet

Available to stream from 12:00am GMT

We may be a while away from a return to nights at the theatre, but creativity always finds a way to shine through. Ambassador Theatre Group will be streaming their fantastic production of Shakespearean classic Rome & Juliet, starring Emily Redpath and Olivier Award winner Sam Tutty, with legendary actor Derek Jacobi and Grammy nominee Brandon Bassir also featuring. 

Beautifully put-together and expertly acted, what better thing to tune in for over Valentines weekend than the most famous love story in history?


Sunday — February 14th

The Mermaid’s Tongue

3:00pm, 5:00pm, 7:00pm & 9:00pm GMT

Another fantastically immersive event, The Mermaid’s Tongue is a fully-interactive escape room experience which sees you and your team of 2-6 players (triple online Valentines date, anyone?) given just one hour and forty-five minutes to solve the Mermaid’s Tongue mystery. Hunt for clues, crack the codes and discover the secret passwords as you piece together this intricate and enthralling story. 

Manimals

4:00pm GMT

From Michelle Hudson and Greenwich Theatre comes this ‘playfully filthy’ online show. The story follows successful game designer Michelle, who thinks she’s struck gold when she begins going on dates with ‘Manimals’ – men who pose with exotic animals in their dating profiles. However, when you attempt to win at all costs, what do you lose?

The pandemic has paved the way for a whole new style of theatre and Michelle Hudson makes use of the advantages of online performance to brilliant effect in this immersive experience – a must for anyone with an interest in theatre.

SEE ALSO: 3 Excellent VOD Films To Watch This Weekend — and one to get excited about